The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the WindThe rumors surrounding this book that are floating around the bookshelves are true. The Name of the Wind is absolutely amazing. Patrick Rothfuss has crafted something truly special. I haven’t seen its like in quite some time.

Let’s get the basics out of the way, The Name of the Wind is the first book of a series known as The Kingkiller Chronicles. It is part of a trilogy. A story told over the course of three days, with each book representing one day.

I don’t want to spoil the book/story so I am going to try and focus on the more technical aspects. Things that I noticed as a writer…

As most know, I am a sucker for a well written character. Rothfuss knows how to write them. Even if they only appear once or twice. You remember them. Every character becomes important, not because they are crucial to the story but because you can’t help but care/hate/love them. There are no Mary Sue’s in this story.

The book is written almost like an interview – with the main character telling the tale. In that aspect it is very similar to books like Interview with a Vampire. But there is one significant difference. Where as in Interview with a Vampire – you always feel like it’s an interview (the prodigious use of quotation marks aside) Rothfuss manages to slide seamlessly from conversations to scenes without so much as a bump in the story.

While the series is a fantasy, there is a sense of ‘realness’ to the setting. The majority of The Name of the Wind takes place in a place of learning. An aspect I can only assume comes from Rothfuss’s love of University. (An assumption made after reading his official website and learning he attended University for nine years…) If I were to live in the world that Rothfuss created I think I would likely, like many others, feel right at home in such a place.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I found myself hanging on every single word. Ever eager to learn more. And just a little bit nervous about what lays around the corner…

I wholeheartedly recommend this series. But please be aware – at the time of this review only the first two books have been published.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s